« Doug Free and Ron Leary could be Cowboys' starting guards on opening day | Main | Jerry Jones doesn't mention the "S" word, but hints of it as Jason Garrett talks about freezing in New Jersey on Feb. 2 »

August 28, 2013

Spencer, Witten, Bryant, Bailey win MVP awards for 2012

The Cowboys announced their offensive, defensive and special teams players for 2012 at the annual Kickoff Luncheon benefiting the Dallas Cowboys Courage House at Happy Hill Farm.

Anthony Spencer was named the team’s defensive player of the year after making 11 sacks. He thanked the Jones family “for keep having me back every year.” Spencer is playing under the franchise tag for a second consecutive year. He will make $10.6 million this season after making $8.8 million in 2012, though the sides have not been able to negotiate a long-term deal.

Jason Witten and Dez Bryant were co-winners of the offensive award.

“Honestly, I think whoever decides on these awards, they probably felt sorry for me,” said Witten, who also won the team’s Ed Block Courage Award. “I think we all know there’s really only one MVP, and he’s [Bryant] standing right by me. He’s an amazing player.”

Dan Bailey was the special teams winner after making 29-of-31 field goals last season.

-- Charean Williams


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Spencer, Witten, Bryant, Bailey win MVP awards for 2012:


The comments to this entry are closed.