« Assistant special teams coach Chris Boniol departs Cowboys coaching staff; Will he be the last? | Main | Three Bucs on the list of Hall of Fame finalists »

January 09, 2014

Charles Haley named Hall of Fame finalist... again; Jimmy Johnson left out

Charles Haley hopes the fifth time is the charm.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced the 15 finalists for the Class of 2014 on Thursday, and Haley again is on the list. Four times he has been rejected in his bid to be remembered as one of the NFL’s all-time greatest pass-rushers.

Four first-year eligible nominees – Derrick Brooks, Tony Dungy, Marvin Harrison and Walter Jones -- also made the list of modern-era candidates.

Jimmy Johnson, who won two Super Bowls with the Cowboys, did not make the cut. Johnson, who retired after the 1999 season, was a semifinalist for the first time.

The Cowboys have had seven players inducted since 2006, and Bill Parcells, who coached in Dallas from 2003-06, earned induction last year. But Haley is the franchise’s only candidate this year.

Haley had 100.5 sacks, made five Pro Bowls and twice was named All-Pro.

Better still, his teams went 153-66, including 19-6 in the postseason. Only once in 12 regular seasons did his team have a losing record. That was in 1999 after he had retired and then unretired.

His teams won 10 division titles, and he played in seven NFC Championship Games. His teams missed the playoffs only twice.

He remains the only player with five Super Bowl rings.

The group of finalists are joined by two senior nominees previously announced, Ray Guy and Claude Humphrey, on the ballot. The 46-member selection committee will elect the Class of 2014 on Feb. 1 in New York City.

-- Charean Williams


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Charles Haley named Hall of Fame finalist... again; Jimmy Johnson left out:


The comments to this entry are closed.