« Great game for Danks | Main | Hicks on board with Washington »

September 30, 2008

Hamilton wins RBI title

Texas Rangers outfielder Josh Hamilton won the American League RBI crown on Tuesday night when Minnesota was shut out 1-0 by the Chicago White Sox in a one-game playoff for the AL Central title. Minnesota's Justin Morneau wound up with 129 RBI, one fewer than Hamilton, in his first year with the Rangers.

Other Rangers who have won the RBI title were: Jeff Burroughs, 118 in 1974; Ruben Sierra, 119 in 1989; Juan Gonzalez, 157 in 1998; and Alex Rodriguez, 142 in 2002.

Philadelphia's Ryan Howard led the National League with 146.


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Hamilton wins RBI title:


The comments to this entry are closed.