« Ron Washington ties for fourth in manager voting | Main | Rangers add two left-handers to 40-man »

November 19, 2009

Rangers announce spring training dates

Here is the release from the team.

Arlington, TX - The Texas Rangers are scheduled to play 31 spring training games in 2010, including contests versus the Kansas City Royals at Rangers Ballpark in Arlington and Dr Pepper Ballpark in Frisco. The club released its complete spring training schedule and pricing on Thursday.

The schedule will include 29 games in Arizona, 16 at Surprise Stadium/Billy Parker Field. The Rangers will be the home team for 14 of those games and will be the visiting club twice against the Royals, who share the Surprise complex with Texas. Those two teams will play three times in Surprise in 2010, opening the spring schedule with the Surprise Sundancers Charity Game on Thursday, March 4 and games on Sunday and Sunday, March 5-6.

In addition, the Rangers will host the Seattle Mariners for two games and will play single home games versus the Arizona Diamondbacks, Chicago Cubs, Chicago White Sox, Cleveland Indians, Colorado Rockies, Los Angeles Angels, Los Angeles Dodgers, Milwaukee Brewers, Oakland A’s, San Diego Padres, and San Francisco Giants. The Cactus League will have 15 teams in 2010 with the Cincinnati Reds joining the Indians in Goodyear. The Rangers and Reds meet just one time, in Texas’ final game in Arizona on Thursday, April 1 in Goodyear.

Texas will play 6:05 p.m. MT games in Surprise with San Francisco on Monday, March 15 and versus Milwaukee on Thursday, March 18. All other Rangers games in Surprise will be 1:05 p.m. MT starts.

Texas and Kansas City will end the exhibition season with a pair of games in Texas: Friday, April 2 at Rangers Ballpark in Arlington at 7:05 p.m. CT and Saturday, April 3 at Dr Pepper Ballpark in Frisco, home of the Rangers’ Texas League farm team, at 1:05 p.m. CT. The Rangers open the 2010 regular season in Arlington on Monday, April 5 versus the Toronto Blue Jays.

2010 individual ticket prices for Texas Rangers games at Surprise Stadium will remain the same as in 2009: Lower Dugout--$23.00; Upper Dugout--$20.00; Infield--$17.00; Plaza--$13.00; and Lawn--$7.00. Full season and 7-Game ticket packages are also available, and there are group ticket packages that include three Rangers half price group games. Parking is free to all games at Surprise Stadium.

Full season ticket packages go on sale Tuesday, December 1, and information is available by calling 623-222-2222 or by going to www.surprisespringtraining.com. Spring training individual tickets for 2010 will go on sale on Saturday, January 9 and may be purchased in one of three ways:

IN PERSON: At the Surprise Stadium Ticket Office, 15960 N. Bullard Ave. in Surprise

BY PHONE: Through Ticketmaster at 800-745-3000

ON THE INTERNET: At texasrangers.com  

A service charge will be applied for all phone and internet orders.

Prior to the start of the exhibition season, the Rangers will hold workouts at the organization’s complex in Surprise. Pitchers and catchers are scheduled to report on Thursday, February 18 and will work out for the first time on Friday, February 19. Infielders and outfielders report on Tuesday, February 23 with the first full squad workout on Wednesday, February 24. All workouts are open to the public free of charge.

The complete 2010 spring training schedule is attached.

 

2010 TEXAS RANGERS SPRING TRAINING SCHEDULE

(All Times Mountain Except Where Noted)

 

DATE     OPPONENT     SITE   TIME

Thursday, March 4 Kansas City Royals (Charity Game)    Surprise Stadium 1:05 p.m.

Friday, March 5    Kansas City Royals     Surprise Stadium 1:05 p.m.

Saturday, March 6 Kansas City Royals    Surprise Stadium    1:05 p.m.

Sunday, March 7     Cleveland Indians    Goodyear   1:05 p.m.

Monday, March 8   Los Angeles Angels     Surprise Stadium    1:05 p.m.

Tuesday, March 9    Oakland A’s Phoenix 1:05 p.m.

Wednesday, March 10   Seattle Mariners Surprise Stadium    1:05 p.m.

Thursday, March 11    Colorado Rockies     Tucson    1:05 p.m.   

Friday, March 12    San Diego Padres    Surprise Stadium    1:05 p.m.

Saturday, March 13     Cleveland Indians    Goodyear   1:05 p.m.

Sunday, March 14   Arizona Diamondbacks (SS)    Surprise Stadium    1:05 p.m.

    Los Angeles Dodgers (SS)   Glendale     1:05 p.m.

Monday, March 15     San Francisco Giants     Surprise Stadium    6:05 p.m.

Tuesday, March 16 Chicago Cubs    Mesa   1:05 p.m.

Wednesday, March 17    Seattle Mariners    Peoria 7:05 p.m.

Thursday, March 18 Milwaukee Brewers    Surprise Stadium    6:05 p.m.

Friday, March 19    Cleveland Indians   Surprise Stadium    1:05 p.m.

Saturday, March 20   Los Angeles Dodgers Surprise Stadium    1:05 p.m.

Sunday, March 21   San Diego Padres Peoria 1:05 p.m.

Monday, March 22 San Francisco Giants   Scottsdale 1:05 p.m.

Tuesday, March 23 Off Day

Wednesday, March 24   Chicago Cubs   Surprise Stadium    1:05 p.m.

Thursday, March 25    Los Angeles Angels Tempe    1:05 p.m.

Friday, March 26    Oakland A’s Surprise Stadium    1:05 p.m.

Saturday, March 27     Milwaukee Brewers     Maryvale   1:05 p.m.

Sunday, March 28   Chicago White Sox     Surprise Stadium    1:05 p.m.

Monday, March 29     Colorado Rockies   Surprise Stadium    1:05 p.m.

Tuesday, March 30 Arizona Diamondbacks Tucson    1:05 p.m.

Wednesday, March 31   Seattle Mariners Surprise Stadium    1:05 p.m.

Thursday, April 1 Cincinnati Reds    Goodyear   1:05 p.m.

Friday, April 2     Kansas City Royals    Rangers Ballpark in Arlington       7:05 p.m. (CDT)

Saturday, April 3    Kansas City Royals    Dr Pepper Ballpark, Frisco      1:05 p.m. (CDT)

 

Home Games in Bold     

NOTE: Surprise is one hour behind Texas time through March 6 and 2 hours behind beginning March 7

SS-Split Squad

Cactus League Home Games Played at Surprise Stadium/Billy Parker Field, Surprise, AZ

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00e54f7fc4c588330120a6b680d5970b

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Rangers announce spring training dates:

Comments

Why don't the Rangers play an exhibition/scrimmage/pre-season game in Oklahoma City? If memory serves me, they used to play just before returning to Arlington for regular season play.

The comments to this entry are closed.