« Rangers make several moves with rosters expanding | Main | Thursday's Rangers pregame notes »

September 01, 2011

Fans can vote for Holtz, Nadel for Ford C. Frick Award

The Texas Rangers sent out a press release with information regarding fans' ability to vote in the 2012 Ford C. Frick award, which will determine three of 10 finalists for the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum's honor for excellence in baseball broadcasting.

The Rangers candidates are current broadcaster Eric Nadel and former broadcaster Mark Holtz. Nadel is in his 33rd season of broadcasting Rangers baseball, the longest tenure of any announcer in franchise history. He has the second longest continuous tenure with one team in the American League to 2007 Frick Award recipient and Kansas City Royals broadcaster Denny Matthews (43rd year in 2011).

 Holtz served as a Rangers broadcaster for 17 years on television and radio from 1981 until his untimely passing in September 1997. He was the lead radio announcer from 1982-94 before moving to television the following season. Holtz was a 2005 inductee to the Texas Rangers Baseball Hall of Fame.

The voting allows fans to cast votes at the Hall of Fame's Facebook page, www.facebook.com/baseballhall. Voting started today and runs through Sept. 30.

Results will be announced on Oct. 5.  The final ballot will have the three fan selections, along with seven other candidates determined by the Hall of Fame staff research team. The 2012 Ford C. Frick Award winner will be announced Dec. 6 at baseball's Winter Meetings in Dallas.

-- Drew Davison


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Fans can vote for Holtz, Nadel for Ford C. Frick Award:


The comments to this entry are closed.