« Mike Maddux plans to meet with Boston, Chicago next week | Main | Rangers investigating leaked Game 7 speech »

November 03, 2011

Michael Young is the Marvin Miller Man of the Year winner

Michael Young has won the Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award for the second time in his career.

The MLB Players Association announced on Thursday night that the Texas Rangers infielder had won the award, presented to the player "whose on-field and off-field performance most inspires others to higher levels of achievement by displaying as much passion to give back to others as he shows between the lines on the baseball diamond."

Young also won the award in 2008, and is just the third player to win the award twice joining John Smoltz (2002, 2003) and Jim Thome (2001, 2004).

The winner is selected by MLB players as part of the Players Choice Awards.

Young and his wife, Cristina Barbosa, recently established the Michael Young Family Foundation, and have also long been affiliated with Wipe out Kids' Cancer (WOKC).

-- Drew Davison


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Michael Young is the Marvin Miller Man of the Year winner:


The comments to this entry are closed.