« Rangers, Ian Kinsler can't reach agreement on extension | Main | Opening Day Final: Rangers 3, White Sox 2 »

April 06, 2012

Opening Day lineups: Texas Rangers vs. Chicago White Sox

Eight of the nine from the Texas Rangers' 2011 Opening Day lineup are in the 2012 lineup. The only player that's changed from last season to this season is David Murphy getting the start for the first time since 2008.

Mitch Moreland is not in the lineup, as manager Ron Washington opted to get more right-handed bats in there agianst White Sox left-hander John Danks. Mike Napoli is at first base, and Yorvit Torrealba is at catcher.

Michael Young is batting fifth as the designated hitter, his 11th consecutive start on Opening Day. That ties a franchise record with Ivan Rodriguez.

Here's the lineups for today's game that begins at 1:05 p.m. at Rangers Ballpark.

Texas: 1. Ian Kinsler (2B); 2. Elvis Andrus (SS); 3. Josh Hamilton (CF); 4. Adrian Beltre (3B); 5. Michael Young (DH); 6. Nelson Cruz (RF); 7. Mike Napoli (1B); 8. Yorvit Torrealba (C); 9. David Murphy (LF).

Pitcher: Colby Lewis.

Chicago White Sox: 1. Alejandro De Aza (CF); 2. Brent Morel (3B); 3. Adam Dunn (DH); 4. Paul Konerko (1B); 5. A.J. Pierzynski (C); 6. Alex Rios (RF); 7. Alexei Ramirez (SS); 8. Dayan Viciedo (LF); 9. Gordon Beckham (2B).

Pitcher: John Danks.

-- Drew Davison


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Opening Day lineups: Texas Rangers vs. Chicago White Sox:


The comments to this entry are closed.