« Wrapping up Rangers 13-4 victory over Mexico City Red Devils, as Nelson Cruz and Mike Adams suffer minor injuries | Main | Money, not years, holding up Ian Kinsler extension »

April 04, 2012

Rangers set 2012 Opening Day roster

As expected, reliever Yoshinori Tateyama will begin the season on the disabled list with a back injury. With that, the Texas Rangers were able to set their 25-man roster Wednesday.

There weren't any surprises, although the team had to designate right-hander Cody Eppley for assignment to clear a spot on the 40-man roster. The Rangers had 39 players on the 40-man roster, but needed two spots with the additions of left-hander Robbie Ross and utility infielder Alberto Gonzalez.

"We didn't have a lot of decisions to make," manager Ron Washington said. "I'm very pleased with what we're going to start the season with."

Here's a breakdown of the roster:

Rotation (5): RHP Colby Lewis, LHP Derek Holland, LHP Matt Harrison, RHP Yu Darvish, RHP Neftali Feliz.

Bullpen (7): RHP Joe Nathan, RHP Mike Adams, RHP Alexi Ogando, RHP Scott Feldman, RHP Koji Uehara, RHP Mark Lowe, LHP Robbie Ross.

Infielders (7): 1B Mitch Moreland, 2B Ian Kinsler, SS Elvis Andrus, 3B Adrian Beltre, INF Michael Young, INF Alberto Gonzalez, INF/OF Brandon Snyder.

Outfielders (4): Josh Hamilton, Nelson Cruz, David Murphy, Craig Gentry.

Catchers (2): Mike Napoli, Yorvit Torrealba.

Other moves the Rangers made on Wednesday:

* Optioned outfielder Julio Borbon, infielder Luis Hernandez and left-hander Neal Cotts to Triple A Round Rock. Cotts was placed on the Triple A disabled list.

* Signed free agent right-hander Aaron Heilman to a minor league deal and assign him to Triple A Round Rock.

-- Drew Davison


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Rangers set 2012 Opening Day roster:


The comments to this entry are closed.