« Kevin Durant & Vince Young: A tale of two Longhorns | Main | Cheerleader chat with Kelsey Lauren, a former TCU Showgirl and finalist for the Dallas Cowboys cheerleaders »


1 year ago today the Dallas Mavericks were NBA champions

Dallas-champsThe 2011-'12 Dallas Mavericks may have been Thunder food in this postseason, but one year ago today they were America's Favorite Team after they prevented Miami Heat G/F LeBron James, G/GM Dwyane Wade and F Chris Bosh from winning the first of their 15 consecutive NBA titles.

On June 12, 2012 the Dallas Mavericks defeated the Heat in Miami 105-95 to win their third consecutive NBA Finals game and end the series, 4-2.

It was Jason Terry, not Dirk Nowitzki, who led all scorers with 27 points. Dirk had one of his worst games of the playoffs; he was 9-of-27 from the floor, and 1-7 from 3. But he finished with 21 and 11, and was named the Finals MVP.

Of all the developments that occurred during these Finals, the most memorable was Terry calling out LeBron after the Game 3 loss and then out-playing the King the rest of the series.

Take a look at how dramatically different the box score from the Mavs' final game of the 2011 season compares to the final game of their 2012 season.

Mavs 105, Heat 95 June 12, 2011
Shawn Marion, F      35 min, 12 points
Dirk Nowitzki, F      39 min, 21 points
Tyson Chandler, C   30 min, 5 points 
Jason Kidd, G        36 min, 9 points
JJ Barea, G           30 min, 15 points
Jason Terry G       34 min, 27 points
Brian Cardinal      12 min, 3 points
DeShawn Stevenson 13 min, 9 points
Ian Mahinmi         11 min, 4 points
Peja Stojakovic  - dnp, coach's decision 
Brendan Haywood  - dnp, coach's decision
Corey Brewer  - dnp, coach's decision 

OKC Thunder 103, Mavericks 97 May 5, 2012
Shawn Marion, F        35 min, 9 points
Dirk Nowitzki, F         40 min, 34 points
Brendan Haywood, C   25 min, 4 points
Jason Kidd, G        38 min, 16 points
Jason Terry, G      43 min, 11 points
Vince Carter, G      20 min, 8 points
Delonte West, G     18 min, 3 points
Ian Mahinmi, C         14 min, 10 points
Brandan Wright, F    6 min, 2 points
Brian Cardinal  - dnp, coach's decision 
Kelenna Azubulke  - dnp, coach's decision
Yi Jianlian  - dnp, coach's decision
Roddy Beaubois - dnp, coach's decision 

Facebook Mac Engel


The comments to this entry are closed.