DALLAS -- The NBA confirmed Wednesday what the Dallas Mavericks already knew Tuesday.
When Monta Ellis drove and lofted up a shot with 16 seconds remaining in overtime and the game tied at 120-120, Golden State center Jermaine O'Neal caught the ball in midair. No call was made on the play, and Stephen Curry went down and drained a 21-footer with 0.1 seconds left to win the game for the Warriors, 122-120.
Numerous replays in American Airlines Center clearly showed that O'Neal should have been whistled for goaltending. With a night to rest on it and review the crucial play, the NBA agreed.
“Upon review at the league office, we have found that a shot taken by Dallas’ Monta Ellis with 16.0 seconds remaining in overtime was on the way down when initially contacted and ruled a
block by Golden State’s Jermaine O’Neal, and should have been ruled a goaltend,'' a statement the NBA sent out Wednesday read. "The exact trajectory of the ball when touched was impossible to ascertain with the naked eye, and the play was not reviewable.”
The transparency by the NBA is welcomed by many team officials. But in this case, the Mavs know the no-call on the court could eventually cost them a playoff spot.
-- Dwain Price
Follow me on Twitter